Main Content

Behavior Intervention Team (BIT)

Abilene Christian University desires to be proactive when it comes to the welfare of our students. As a result, ACU’s Behavior Intervention Team (“BIT”) receives, shares and assesses information regarding concerning or disruptive student behavior in order to establish coordinated, caring, and preventative interventions aimed at avoiding harm to self or others.

BIT encourages anyone to report a student’s concerning or disruptive behavior in the following ways: file a SOAR report; or contact Dean of Students Mark Lewis at Mark.Lewis@acu.edu or 325.674.2067.  However, in an emergency ACUPD should be contacted at (325) 674-2911.  The types of behavior or actions that should be reported include but are not limited to the following:

  • Classroom disturbances
  • Disproportionate responses to grades or other evaluations
  • Threatening or aggressive behavior, including online posts or videos. Angry or hostile outburst
  • Words, actions, or writings that suggest intentions to harm self or others
  • Observed self-injurious behavior or unhealthy habits that seriously threaten health or safety
  • Suicidal threats, gestures, ideations, or attempts
  • Being under the influence of drugs or alcohol in the classroom
  • Accidental overdose
  • Extreme insubordination to staff or faculty
  • Paranoia or delusions
  • Flat affect or extreme lack of response
  • Stalking
  • Alarming references to bombs, ammunitions, or weapons
  • Acts motivated by hatred or discrimination
  • Excessive absenteeism or extreme isolation

BIT Members, 2019-2020

Susan Lewis Academics, Provost’s Office lewiss@acu.edu
Andy Little Academics – COBA andrew.little@acu.edu
Lt. Randy Motz ACU Police Department randy.motz@acu.edu
Abbey Green University Access Programs alb13e@acu.edu
Sherita Nickerson Title IX Office sherita.nickerson@acu.edu
Tyson Alexander Counseling Care Center tyson.alexander@acu.edu
Lyndi Felan SOAR lks10a@acu.edu
Shannon Kaczmarek Residence Life shannon.kaczmarek@acu.edu
Ryan Bowman Multicultural Affairs ryan.bowman@acu.edu
Rebekah Reyes Student Administrative Services red02b@acu.edu
Mark Lewis, Chair Student Life lewism@acu.edu