Faculty Names Students 'University Scholars'

for immediate release May 12, 1998

Fifteen Abilene Christian University students from Abilene and the Big Country were honored as University Scholars during a ceremony in the Chapel on the Hill April 23. Thirty-one other students were also named University Scholars.

Each year the Faculty Senate designates 50 outstanding seniors as University Scholars who have distinguished themselves academically during their tenure at ACU. Not only have the honorees achieved a grade point average of 3.5 or above, but in other ways they have demonstrated scholarly or research abilities in their respective disciplines.

The Student Senate instituted this award several years ago because the faculty thought it was important to honor academic achievement in a way that parallels achievements for service, leadership, and athletic excellence, said Dr. Darryl Tippens, the James W. Culp Distinguished Professor of English at ACU.

During the ceremony, each student honoree is hosted by a particular professor from his or her major. The host awards a certificate and a bronze medallion, which the students wear during commencement exercises along with their academic regalia.

Dr. Jim Nichols, professor of biology and 1997 Teacher of the Year, spoke during a devotional led by faculty members.

Names of the honoress along with their degrees and hometowns are as follows:

Students from Abilene are: Min-Lin Hsu (Nursing), Raymond Duggan (Biology), Heidi White Morris (Communication), Elizabeth Nichols Wilson (English/Biology), Blake Lindsey (Exercise Science), Janet Lewis Chowning (Family & Consumer Sciences), Jutta Reutter (Journalism & Mass Communication), Nathan Paul Willis (Mathematics/Computer Science), Rebecca Ruth Cannon (Psychology), Marilee Hope Hough (Sociology & Social Work), and Maegan Anders (Accounting).

Students from the Big Country are: Ranessa Lynn Crawford (Biology), Goldthwaite; Brooke Alyson Stephens (Education), San Angelo; Marilyn Ann Thompson (Education), Albany; and Matt Cave (Accounting), Snyder.

Students from elsewhere are: Lori Kaye Cathey (Nursing), Carlsbad, N.M.; Clayton John Thayer (Agriculture & Environment), Chino Valley, Ariz.; James Matthew Widner (Agriculture & Environment), Harrison, Ark.; Talmadge Smith (Art), Dallas; Don Adrian Church (Biology), Plano; Duane Lee Griffith (Biology), Carlsbad, N.M.; Jeffrey Mark Henderson (Chemistry), Childress; Mary Joelle Lipcamon (Chemistry), Pittsfield, Ill.; Kaley Denise Alexander (Communication), Mesquite; Heather Chance (Communication), San Antonio; Allison Leah Hawkins (Communication), Plano; Geremy Francis Keeton (Communication), Gatesville; Virginia Faye Milstead (English), Moreno Valley, Calif.; Alex Nelayev (English), Minsk, Belarus; Amy Christine Wade (Exercise Science), Richmond, Va.; Kara Rae Hanan (Family & Consumer Sciences), Edmond, Okla.; Kacee Beth Allmon (Foreign Languages), Petersburg; Jessica Pierson (Mathematics), Uhland; Kevin Alexander Whitelaw (Music), Carrollton; Aaron Dennington (Physics), Austin; Kyle Gregory Priest (Physics), Spring; Brittyne Ann Baggett (Political Science), St. Charles, Mo.; Tobe Michael Phillips (Psychology), Fort Worth; Mark Alan Smith (Theater), Bristol, Va.; James Paul Natale (Ministry), Arvada, Colo.; Adam Ryan Nicholson (Ministry), Anderson, Ind.; T. Brian Cavitt (Missions/Chemistry), Lake Jackson; Jarod Douglas Bonine (Accounting), Sugar Land; Kendra Lee Neal (Accounting), Las Vegas; Mark Slater (Accounting), Lansing, Mich.; and Brad Stewart (Accounting), Palestine.

If you are a member of the media who would like more information about this release, please contact Malissa Endsley, director of media relations, at endsleym@nicanor.acu.edu or call 915-674-2692.

This page is maintained by Malissa Endsley, endsleym@nicanor.acu.edu.
Last update: May 20, 1998