Retirees, Outstanding Staff, Faculty Honored at Year-End Appreciation Banquet

for immediate release April 27, 1998

Abilene Christian University honored its employees, including six who will retire this year, during its annual Appreciation Dinner Saturday, April 25, at the Abilene Civic Center's Conference Center. Two Outstanding Staff Members of the Year awards, the Unsung Servant Award and the Faculty Senate Award of Excellence were all presented.

Peggy Bell, administrative coordinator for the Office of Marketing Services, and Byron Patterson, director of the Central Plant, were named ACU's 1997-98 Outstanding Staff Members of the Year.

Bell was nominated by her co-workers for her "courtesy, organization, energy and commitment, which are key to high customer satisfaction" in a busy, deadline-driven office. She was also cited for her unique sensitivity to others' needs, encouraging all who enter the office and taking a special interest in nurturing student workers.

Patterson was honored for "enhancing the comfort, productivity and retention of students and staff" through his responsibility for the university's heating, air conditioning, utilities, safety, landscaping and grounds. He was described as "setting high standards for himself and the people with whom he works; continually looking for ways to improve; and making sure people are equipped with the skills to do their jobs in a highly professional manner."

Betty Whiteside, executive secretary to the president, received the Unsung Servant Award, which honors a non-faculty member whom students nominate for being especially helpful and caring to them. Students nominated her for her "unrelenting smile, witty sense of humor and willingness to answer an endless array of questions." Known as a "living archive" of ACU history, Whiteside has served as secretary to four university presidents: Don H. Morris, Dr. John C. Stevens, Dr. William J. Teague and Dr. Royce Money.

Dr. John T. Willis, professor of Bible and the Burton Coffman Distinguished Professor of Biblical Studies, was given the Faculty Senate Award of Excellence for his exemplary teaching, scholarship and service. Known for opening up his home to students and going out of his way to make others feel appreciated, Willis' mentoring of students was described as "legendary."

The retirees honored have given ACU combined service of 192 years in various departments:

40 YEARS - Dr. Brent Green, Department of Art. 38 YEARS - Sam McReynolds, Department of Mathematics. 35 YEARS - Dr. Jerry Drennan, Department of Industrial Technology; 33 YEARS - Dr. Ed Enzor, Department of Communication. 32 YEARS - Dr. Ina Green, Department of Psychology. 14 YEARS - Dr. Milton Fletcher, ACU Foundation.

* * * Employees and trustees who have served the university for at least 10 years received service pins for intervals of five years of work: 40 YEARS - Dr. Neil R. Lightfoot, Graduate Department of Bible and Ministry; Roy E. Shake, Department of Biology.

35 YEARS - Dr. Curt Dickson, Department of Exercise Science and Health; Dr. Gary McCaleb, Vice President; and Ben H. Zickefoose, Department of Exercise Science and Health.

30 YEARS - Helen Ellison, WFF Custodial Services; Dr. Marianna Y. Rasco, Department of Family and Consumer Sciences; Garner L. Roberts, Sports Information.

25 YEARS - Dr. Ted Starnes, University Events; Willard Tate, Department of Communication; Gaston Welborn, Vice President for Legal Services; Dr. Chris Willerton, Department of English.

20 YEARS - Ken Arnold, Campus Security; Dr. Ian A. Fair, Graduate Department of Bible and Ministry; Annette Frazier, University Development Operations; Mary Ann Garrett, Department of Marriage and Family Therapy; Betty Hale, Provost Emeritus Office/ Visiting Committees; Richard Lunsford, Board of Trustees, Olney; W. Lynn Luttrell, Department of Exercise Science and Health; Robert R. Onstead, Board of Trustees, Houston; Marijin See, University Development Operations.

15 YEARS - Warren Alkire, Systems and Operations; John D. Anderson, Energy Management; Dan Chrane, Computer and Network Services; Don Conder, Board of Trustees, Granbury; Ronald B. Hadfield, Marketing Services; Ralph L. Harvey, Board of Trustees, Oklahoma City, Okla.; Dr. Ira Hill, Board of Trustees, Locust, N.J.; Wes Kittley, Athletics; Susan Neil, ACU Bookstore; Kevin Watson, Campus Services/Investments.

10 YEARS - Dr. Daniel K. Brannan, Department of Biology; Dale A. Brown, Board of Trustees, Midland; Terry L. Childers, Board of Trustees, Edmond, Okla.; Clara Gibson, Abilene Educational Supply; Bob Gowens, Board of Trustees, Missouri City; Kay Hayes, University Development Operations; Dr. Jeffrey Dale Hobbs, Department of Communication; Paul W. Johnson, Board of Trustees, Lubbock; Dr. Paul Lakey, Department of Communication; Jeff Leving, Computer and Network Services; Carol B. Martin, Admissions; Gaye May, Department of Communication; Lisa McCarty, Institutional Research and Assessment; Joseph H. McKissick, Prutett Gerontology Center; Emmett Miller, Department of Agriculture and Environment; Robert K. Oglesby Sr., Board of Trustees, Richardson; Dr. Scott Perkins, Department of Psychology; Julie A. Pruett, Department of Music; Lois Marie Reed, Department of Physics; Dr. Charles A. Siburt, Graduate Department of Bible and Ministry; Jan South, Church Relations/Lectureship; Gene Stallings, Board of Trustees, Powderly; Phyllis Trevathan, Career Services; Dr. John N. Tyson Jr., Development; Dr. David Wallace, Graduate Department of Bible and Ministry.

If you are a member of the media who would like more information about this release, please contact Malissa Endsley, director of media relations, at or call 915-674-2692.

This page is maintained by Malissa Endsley,
Last update: May 7, 1998