Newspaper Publisher, Students Honored

for immediate release May 6, 1998

Abilene Reporter-News publisher Frank Puckett and seven Abilene Christian University students were inducted into the journalism and mass communication national honor society Kappa Tau Alpha Thursday, April 30.

The ceremony was during a special chapel service at 11 a.m. in ACU's Chapel on the Hill.

The ACU chapter of the honor society traditionally selects one or more local media professionals to induct as honorary members each year. Puckett is the chief executive officer of the Reporter-Publishing Company which publishes the Abilene Reporter-News and a number of other local publications in and around Abilene. The company was the flagship of Harte-Hanks Communications, a worldwide communications company, until late in 1997 when the Scripps Howard Company purchased the newspaper division based in Cincinnati, Ohio. Before joining Harte-Hanks Communications in 1977, he earned a journalism/mass communication degree from Indiana University, and he was publisher of privately held newspapers in Indiana and Illinois.

At Harte-Hanks, Puckett served as publisher in Ohio and New Jersey before moving to Texas. He was president of the western region of Harte-Hank newspapers with multi-unit responsibilities including Abilene, San Angelo, Bryan-College Station, Big Spring and some New Mexico properties. He has served three years as chairman of Harte-Hanks corporatewide quality program; has coordinated circulation for all Harte-Hank newspapers; and has served as advertising liaison with Sears Roebuck for all newspapers.

Puckett has been involved in civic and industry service with Texas Daily Newspaper Association, Abilene Chamber of Commerce, ACT-NOW!, Abilene Industrial Foundation, United Way, Abilene Community Foundation and West Texas Rehabilitation Center. Voted as Outstanding Citizen in Abilene in 1991, he also was voted Outstanding Citizen for Strategic Air Command and Mobility Air Command of the Air Force.

The seven undergraduate inductees are Brittany Huckabee, junior broadcast production major from Abilene; Nathaniel Jones, senior broadcast journalism major from Abilene; Holly Rosser, junior broadcast journalism major from Allen; Gabe Waggoner, senior broadcast journalism major from Clyde; Chris Brush, junior electronic media major from Garland; Ann Marie Lim, broadcast production major from Singapore; and Jamie Ballard, senior advertising/public relations major from Fort Worth.

Faculty members, who will march in academic regalia, will also distribute certificates to the student scholars who had 4.0 grade point averages in the fall 1997 semester and to those who earned the top grade in summer and fall 1997 mass communication classes.

Kappa Tau Alpha honors juniors and seniors in the top 10 percent of their class and exemplary graduate students. The organization's name means "truth will prevail," and members vow to uphold the principles of responsible, accurate journalism.

If you are a member of the media who would like more information about this release, please contact Malissa Endsley, director of media relations, at or call 915-674-2692.

This page is maintained by Malissa Endsley,
Last update: May 7, 1998