Students compete, win in national debate tournament

Posted March 28, 2012

Two debate teams, Jeff Craig ('12) with Jared Perkins ('12) and Dylan Brugman ('14) with Toni Maisano ('14), recently received top honors at the National Parliamentary Tournament of Excellence, or NPTE, held March 17-19 at Western Washington University in Bellingham, Wash.

Craig and Perkins were named an All-American team by the National Parliamentary Debate Association. This honor is given to the top 10 senior debate students in the country. It recognizes students who have exhibited an exemplary debate career, served their communities, and maintained at least a 3.5 GPA. The team ranked 30th out of 60 teams in the nation. In the Parliamentary debate category, they ranked 15th out of 60 and had the most wins of any team after preliminaries, with an incredible record of 59 wins.

Brugman won the Dan Henning Novice Speaker Award for being the top novice speaker present. He competed against students from University of Utah, United States Air Force Academy and University of Colorado-Boulder. This is the third straight year ACU has won the novice award. (Perkins brought the award home in 2010.)

"We are blessed to have such quality young men in our program," says Dena Counts, instructor of communication and ACU's forensics coach.

Learn more about ACU's forensics team here.