English professor wins CCTE award

Posted May 26, 2011

Dr. Nancy Shankle, professor of English and associate dean of the College of Arts and Sciences at Abilene Christian University, received the Frances Hernández Teacher-Scholar Award, the most prestigious award given by the Conference of College Teachers of English (CCTE).

Each year, the award is given in honor of Dr. Frances Hernández, longtime member of CCTE. Recipients are awarded based on outstanding teaching, service to CCTE, and academic and scholarly achievement. The winner receives $1,000 and a plaque at the spring CCTE conference.

"I'm honored to be selected for this award in recognition of excellence in teaching, scholarship, and service," Shankle says. "I'm now part of a prestigious group that started with Dr. Hernández, a great teacher-scholar and supporter of CCTE. Being selected by my peers to receive the highest award the CCTE offers is truly gratifying."

Also at the CCTE conference, ACU English graduate student Brent Dill won the William E. Tanner Award for the best rhetorical paper by a graduate student. His winning paper, "Ghostbook: A New Rhetoric of Grief," will be published in the 2011 issue of CCTE Studies.

Dr. Mikee Delony, assistant professor of English, also shared her scholarly pursuits with the CCTE conference. She presented a paper on popular culture titled "Cinematic Guinevere."

Find more information about the CCTE conference here.