Journalism majors win at Texas competitions

Posted April 18, 2011

Twenty-four ACU journalism majors were recognized for their merit last month at a journalism competition hosted by the Texas Intercollegiate Press Association in Fort Worth.

Students submitted work created on-site to compete for awards in radio, newspaper, television and online categories. ACU students earned several first-place honors, beating out colleges such as Texas Christian University, the University of Texas at Arlington, Southern Methodist University, Texas A&M and Baylor.

"This was my fourth year to compete in TIPA's on-site competitions," says Laura Acuff, senior journalism major from College Station. "It's always kind of a rush to be competing with journalists from the best programs in the state. And when you add an award to the fun of competing and the excitement of a quick deadline, it's just sort of icing on the cake."

First-place awards in the live competition went to Brandon Tripp for sports writing, Laura Acuff for feature writing, Amanda McVey for PR crisis management, and Mark Smith for radio advertising.

First-place awards in Sweepstakes went to Jacquie Harbour, Caleb Robinson and Matthew Woodrow for overall newscast; Blane Singletary for documentary in feature story; and Jacquie Harbour for feature story.

In the newspaper category, Linda Bailey took first place for information graphic and Kelsi Williamson earned three first-place awards for headline, single-subject presentation and feature page design.

The entire JMC Network staff won first place for best online community engagement for The Optimist online. Also in the online category, Brandon Tripp won first place for sports in a feature story.

Second-place awards went to Mark Smith for TV sportswriting, Bryson Shake for radio sportswriting, Jeff Craig for headline writing, Jozie Sands for magazine design, and Brandon Tripp for TV announcing.

TIPA is the largest and oldest statewide student journalism organization in the country.

Journalism students who work as student announcers for KACU have also earned recognition this semester. Sophomore Zane Goggans competed for the Society of Professional Journalism's regional Mark of Excellence Award. He took third in Radio News Reporting.

For more information about ACU's journalism department, click here.