ACU student named president of national agriculture honor society

Posted May 05, 2010

FerrellKyle Ferrell, a junior agribusiness science major from Weatherford, Texas, was recently named the national president of Delta Tau Alpha, the nationwide agricultural honor society. During one of the society's recent conferences, Ferrell was nominated and elected president by students from across the country. He will oversee several of the organization's regional vice presidents.

"I'm ready to get Delta Tao Alpha's students all over the country more involved in sharing and collaborating, and I'm excited to be representing ACU to this organization," says Ferrell. "This new opportunity gives me a chance to bring to the table the different world view we have here as Christians."

There currently are 24 chapters of Delta Tau Alpha nationwide. The society promotes and recognizes scholarship and leadership accomplishments of agricultural students while emphasizing character development, enhancing undergraduate preparation for professional positions and joining with other agricultural student's organizations in the promotion of agriculture.

Ferrell says one of his main objectives will be strengthening bonds within the regional chapters of the society. He hopes to spur development of more chapter websites so members and advisors can more easily share ideas and keep up with each other, especially post graduation.

Delta Tau Alpha is a member of the Association of College Honor Societies whose mission is to build a visibly cohesive community of national and international honor societies, individually and collaboratively exhibiting excellence in scholarship, service, programs and governance.

Did You Know? Kent Westerlage, sophomore electronic media major, has earned an internship at Bell Labs in Belgium this summer with his winning idea in a contest held exclusively for ACU students. Westerlage submitted an idea for a mobile application that will use RFID for advertising and communication on university campuses. Congratulations to Kent!