Morlan Award Dinner honors contributors to education

Posted March 22, 2013

The 2013 Morlan Award Dinner will take place April 9, honoring Dr. Jeri (Kyker '70) Pfeifer for her contributions to the education field and Kaye Price-Hawkins ('72) for her dedication to improved literacy in schools.

Pfeifer, who earned bachelor’s and master’s degrees from ACU and a doctorate from Texas Tech University, will receive the Grover C. Morlan Award for her continued service to students and faculty. She currently serves as the superintendent for Everman Independent School District. Her 35-year career in education includes roles as secondary teacher and principal, director of career and technologyeducation director of K-12 language arts at the district level, and author of multiple scholarly education articles. She also served ACU as associate professor of teacher education, director of academic services, assistant to the provost, and assistant vice president for enrollment management.

Kaye Price-Hawkins will be honored with the Bob Hunter Friend of Education Award. This award is given yearly to an individual who is not a teacher but is still an advocate of education. 

Hawkins is committed to improved literacy in education and provides staff development for any school or organization interested in learning more about language arts. She consults region service centers, schools, parents and students in various areas of literacy through her business, Priceless Literacy. 

The Morlan Award Dinner begins at 6:30 p.m. in the Hunter Welcome Center. 

Tickets are available for $20 per person or $175 for a table of eight. To purchase tickets, call Cathy Ford at 325-674-2112 or Julie Douthit at 325-674-2121


Vision in Action

Watch the video above to witness the future of Abilene Christian University taking shape.

Learn more 

Connect with ACU