ACU Home
Mel Hailey receives statewide law education award

For immediate release
August 15, 2005

Dr. Mel Hailey, professor and chair of the Department of Political Science at Abilene Christian University, recently received the Honorary Leon Jaworski Award for 2005. 

The award is given annually to honor teaching excellence in law-focused education by the State Bar of Texas, the Texas Young Lawyers Association, and Law Focused Education, Inc. Hailey received the award at a ceremony in Arlington on July 15.

Although college and university professors are not eligible for the award, in rare circumstances and by a vote of the Board of Directors an honorary Jaworski Award is given to individuals who have made outstanding contributions to law-focused education.  The board voted to give Hailey the award for his 13 years of teaching thousands of high school teachers across Texas the complexities of constitutional law and the role of the founding documents in the creation of the Constitution of the United States. Hailey has conducted dozens of such seminars for the State Bar in every major city of Texas.

The award recognizes educators who have made an exceptional contribution to law focused education and whose programs:  (1) foster understanding of the values of our legal and judicial systems; (2) inform and educate students as to the roles in society of the law, the courts, the law enforcement agencies, and the legal profession; (3) stimulate a deeper sense of individual responsibility, instructing students to recognize their duties, as well as their rights; (4) encourage effective law-focused education programs in their schools or communities; and (5) increase communication and understanding between students, educators, and those involved professionally in the legal system.

The award is named for the late Leon Jaworski, special prosecutor during the impeachment proceedings during the Richard Nixon Administration.  Jaworski's legal career was a model of public service and legal education for the public.


If you are a member of the media who would like more information about this release, please contact Wendy Kilmer, director of public relations.

Recent news releases