ACU Home
ACU confers degrees, awards at May Commenc

For immediate release
May 7, 2005

Abilene Christian University awarded 583 degrees during two ceremonies Saturday.

Several awards were presented at Commencement, including the Board of Trustees awards for the honor and recognition the recipients have brought ACU through their achievements, character and devotion. Recipients were Larry Isenhower graduate from Abilene; Michael Miller, theatre graduate from Lubbock; Elizabeth Alvarez, political science graduate from McAllen; and Layne Rouse, communication graduate from Midland.

The Dean Adams Achievement awards were presented to students who overcame some type of obstacle to achieve their ACU education. Recipients were Annick Kanyamuneza, nursing and exercise science graduate from Burundi, Africa; Kate Eason, theatre graduate from McKinney; and Brittany Jones, animal science graduate from Arlington.

Twenty-three seniors were honored with Alpha Chi awards for perfect 4.0 grade point averages:

  • Nichole Brezel, communication disorders

  • Rebecca Brown, Spanish

  • Rachael Campbell, integrated marketing communication

  • Elizabeth Ann Canarsky, communication

  • Matthew Copeland, accounting

  • Casey Crosby, Biblical text

  • Maggie Ehrke, communication disorders

  • Nathan Gray, molecular biochemistry

  • Jennifer Hanner, elementary education

  • Brittany Haws, psychology

  • Angela Heiderich, Spanish and international studies

  • Conrad Hester, psychology

  • Megan Holmes, political science

  • Laura Malene Irons, history

  • Nathan Jerkins, theatre

  • Adriane Jewett, integrated marketing communication

  • Darin Love, accounting

  • Brenna McWilliams, marketing

  • Kimberly Molleur, elementary education

  • Kristen Parker, psychology

  • Bethany Powell, chemistry

  • Lauren Smith, communication

  • Jennifer Voiles, industrial psychology

Tracy Harper, elementary education graduate, received the award for next highest GPA with a 3.99.

Graduating students and their families attended the annual Senior Dinner Friday night, where several other awards were presented.

Honor Man and Honor Woman Awards were given to students who exhibited exemplary character, outstanding academic achievements and behavior epitomizing the ideal student. Recipients were Nathan Gray, molecular biochemistry graduate from Collierville, Tenn.; and Bethany Powell, chemistry graduate from Abilene.

The B Sherrod Scholarships were awarded to students for their overall contribution to the university and will each receive a $500 scholarship to be used for graduate school. Recipients were Jamie Marr, molecular biochemistry graduate from Plano, and Kelsie Wylie, Bible major from Baton Rouge, La.


If you are a member of the media who would like more information about this release, please contact Wendy Kilmer, director of public relations.

Recent news releases