ACU Home
JMC students, publications and KACU honored at competitions

For immediate release
April 22, 2005

Abilene Christian University journalism and mass communication students and student publications received top honors in journalism competitions. 

The Society of Professional Journalists Region 8 Mark of Excellence awarded first place to the Optimist, ACU’s student newspaper, for in-depth reporting and for the best all around non-daily student newspaper; to Blake Farmer for TV feature photography; and to Joel Weckerly for sports writing.  Second place honors were given to Blake Farmer for TV reporting; Daniel Barcroft for editorial cartooning, and Steve Holt for sports writing.  Paul Anthony received third place honors for general news reporting. SPJ Region 8 includes schools from Texas and Oklahoma.

The Texas Intercollegiate Press Association held its 2005 Convention April 7-9 in Dallas, where students competed in live competitions and received awards for pre-submitted materials.  KACU, ACU’s radio station, won sweepstakes in radio competition and the Optimist won second in the Best in Show competition at TIPA.

At the live competition Rachael Campbell received first place in public relations writing.  Second place was given to Blake Farmer for TV announcing; Adriane Jewett for yearbook design; and Lori Bredemeyer for copy editing.  Lori Bredemeyer also received third place honors for headline writing.  Honorable mention was given to Emily Chastain for feature photography; Brian Schmidt and Rachel Lau for two-person photography; Tiffany Williams for sports radio writing; and Melody Willingham for public relations crisis management.  Jaci Schneider received a scholarship. 

TIPA submitted contest results ended in the Optimist receiving five first place awards, three second place awards, three third place awards and 14 honorable mentions in the student newspaper division.  The Prickly Pear received four second place awards, one third place award and one honorable mention in the student yearbook division.  Students involved with KUF-TV 7 at ACU received one first place award and two second place awards in the student television division.  KACU student broadcasters and staff received three first place awards, two second place awards, two third place awards and two honorable mention awards in the student radio division.         


If you are a member of the media who would like more information about this release, please contact Wendy Kilmer, director of public relations.

Recent news releases