ACU Home

About ACU Academics Admissions Campus Offices Campus Life Employment Faith Committment Support ACU Brown Library Major Events Ministry Resources News Wildcat Sports

Take a virtual tour

Contact Us Search ACU People ACU Site Index ACU Calendars Apply On-line Change the World Search Our Site
About ACU Academics Admissions Sports Campus Life Employment Events Library Ministry Resources News Campus Offices Support ACU

ACU theatre students, performances honored by Abilene Reporter-News

For immediate release
Aug. 12, 2003

Students, performances and productions from Abilene Christian University received 14 nominations and won six out of nine overall awards in the Abilene Reporter-News Abbies Awards announced Sunday.

The Abbies Awards are given for the best in local college and community theater, selected by Abilene Reporter-News entertainment reporter Brien Murphy, who attended all 33 plays performed by collegiate and community groups this season.

ACU took the top honor in the following categories:

  • Lead Actress, non-musical -- Adrienne Harper, ACU graduate of May 2003, for her performance as Nora in ACU's production of "A Doll's House."
  • Supporting Actor, non-musical -- Ryan Crowder, senior theatre major from Thornton, Colo., for his performances as Peachy Weil, in ACU's production of "The Last Night of Ballyhoo," and his role as Trinculo in ACU's production of "The Tempest."
  • Lead Actor, musical -- Alex Organ, ACU graduate of May 2003, for his performance as Dr. Jekyll/Mr. Hyde in ACU's production of "Jekyll & Hyde."
  • Lead Actress, musical -- Kristie Perkins, senior theatre major from Abilene, for her performance as Laurey in the Paramount Theater's production of "Oklahoma!"
  • Supporting Actress, musical -- Lauren Garner, ACU graduate of 2003, as Ado Annie in the Paramount Theater's production of "Oklahoma!"
  • Play of the Year -- ACU's production of "The Tempest"

Other ACU students receiving nominations included Beau Trujillo, ACU graduate of May 2003; Mark Smith, ACU alumnus (1997); Kelly Haseltine, junior theatre major from Abilene; Nathan Brainard, senior theatre major from Burleson; Allison Seibert, ACU graduate of December 2002; and Christine (Tyndall) Pinson, senior theatre major from North Richland Hills. The ACU production of "Jekyll & Hyde" was also nominated for Play of the Year.

See the Abilene Reporter-News story at,1874,ABIL_11417_2171401,00.html.


If you are a member of the media who would like more information about this release, please contact Wendy Kilmer, media relations coordinator.

Recent news releases

Recommend This Page

Last Update: December 17, 2007
Questions to (

Copyright © 1995-2006 Abilene Christian University. All rights reserved.