ACU Home

About ACU Academics Admissions Campus Offices Campus Life Employment Faith Committment Support ACU Brown Library Major Events Ministry Resources News Wildcat Sports

Take a virtual tour

Contact Us Search ACU People ACU Site Index ACU Calendars Apply On-line Change the World Search Our Site
About ACU Academics Admissions Sports Campus Life Employment Events Library Ministry Resources News Campus Offices Support ACU
ACU Home > Major Events > News > 2003 News Archive > Faculty/Staff appreciation

ACU faculty, staff honored Friday

For immediate release
April 28, 2003

Faculty and staff at Abilene Christian University were honored Friday evening at the annual Faculty/Staff Appreciation Dinner.

Outstanding faculty and staff members were announced and awarded, retiring faculty and staff were honored, and employees received service pins for their years of service to the university.

Employee Awards

Outstanding staff members for 2000-03 are Margaret Davis, licensed psychological associate in the University Counseling Center, and Lois Marie Reed, administrative coordinator in the Department of Physics.

Joel Swedlund, manger of the campus center, was given the Unsung Servant award, which is nominated and voted on by students.

Dr. Marianna Rasco, professor and chair of the Department of Family and Consumer Sciences, received the Faculty Senate Award.


Retiring faculty and staff include:

  • Dr. Richard A. Cox, professor of English an director of freshman English

  •  Dr. Glenn Davis, professor of agronomy in the Department of Agriculture and Environment

  • Mary Ann Garrett, administrative coordinator in the Department of Marriage and Family Therapy

  • Clara Gibson, Abilene Educational Supply clerk

  • James “Sarge” Harlan, data center coordinator

  • Marsha Harper, professor of library science and director of the Brown Library

  • Jo Anne Jamison, manager of payroll

  • Phyllis Kennon, instructor of industrial technology

  • Raye Lakey, associate director of the Center for Teaching Excellence

  • Erma Jean Loveland, assistant professor of library science

  • Dr. Charles Marler, professor of journalism and mass communication

  • Dr. Marianna Rasco, professor and chair of the Department of Family and Consumer Sciences

  • Jan South, executive secretary in the Office of the Provost

  • Dr. Dan White, professor of education

Service honors

Dr. John Stevens, chancellor emeritus and former president of the university, received a 55-year service pin.

Dr. Neil Lightfoot, Frank and Della Pack Professor of New Testament and professor of graduate Bible and ministry, and Roy Shake, associate professor emeritus of biology, received 45-year service pins.

Dr. Curtis Dickson, professor of exercise science and health, received a 40-year service pin.

Jeannette Lipford, assistant professor emerita of voice, and Garner Roberts, assistant director of marketing and public relations received a 35-year pin.

Willard Tate, associate professor of communication, and Gaston Welborn, vice president and general counsel received 30-year service pins.

Annette Frazier, senior central files clerk; Dr. Lynn Luttrell, associate professor of exercise science and health; and Marijin See, senior central files clerk received 25-year service pins.


If you are a member of the media who would like more information about this release, please contact Wendy Kilmer, university news coordinator.

Recommend This Page

Last Update: December 17, 2007
Questions to (

Copyright © 1995-2006 Abilene Christian University. All rights reserved.