ACU faculty win prestigious grants

For immediate release
July 5, 1999

Abilene Christian University faculty have recently been awarded prestigious grants:

  • Drs. Paul Morris and David Dillman were awarded a grant from the John Templeton Foundation to teach a course, "Freedom, Technology and Political Economy," as part of The Freedom Project, an international higher education initiative. A proposal by Morris and Dillman was on of 11 chosen for this honor.
  • Adam Hester, director of theater, received grants from the Ann Bradshaw Stokes Foundation and the Abilene Cultural Affairs Council for the theatre production of "Henry V" and ACU's Shakespeare Festival. Because of these grants, Hester was able to offer the community an opportunity to experience Shakespeare for free.
  • Drs. Jeff Arrington, associate professor of physics, and Patricia Hernandez, associate professor of biology, were awarded a grant from the Dwight D. Eisenhower Grants Program for taking life science instruction and materials to elementary school teachers at rural school districts.
  • Connie Yarema, professor of mathematics, and Dr. Jeff Arrington received a grant from the Dwight D. Eisenhower Grants Program for taking pre-algebra instruction using multiple pedagogies to Abilene ISD middle school math teachers.
  • Dr. Jerry Whitworth, chair of the department of education, was awarded a grant from the State Board for Educator Certification to develop a program to increase the number of special educators in Texas.

&endash; 30 &endash;

If you are a member of the media who would like more information about this release, please contact Tom Craig, director of media and community relations, at or call 915-674-2692.

Last update: July 5, 1999
This page is maintained by Tom Craig,