ACU honors outstanding employees at year-end banquet

For immediate release
May 5, 1999

Abilene Christian University honored its employees, including eight who will retire this year, during its annual Appreciation Dinner Friday, April 29, at the Teague Special Events Center on campus.

Two awards were presented for Outstanding Staff Members of the Year, as well as the Unsung Servant Award.

Theresa Jaworski, administrative coordinator for special services in development, and Raye Lakey, the director of instructional development at the Adams Center for Teaching Excellence, were named ACU's 1998-99 Outstanding Staff Members of the Year.

Jaworski was nominated by her co-workers as one who "works diligently and tirelessly in her service to ACU, and she remains a joy to work with, always smiling and laughing." She also was cited for her loyalty, Christian devotion and knowledge of her job.

Lakey was honored for being one who "totally champions departments, always looking for ways to encourage fellow employees and showcase other departments" through her work in the Adams Center for Teaching Excellence. One co-worker said, "How can anyone have a five minute conversation with her and not come away affirmed and brimming with ideas?"

Gayle Taylor, administrative assistant to the dean of students, received the Unsung Servant Award, which honors a non-faculty member whom students nominate for being especially helpful and caring to them. Students nominated Taylpr for her sensitivity and compassion. One student said, "She does all she can and more ... She is my mom away from home."

Co-workers described Taylor as a mother, nurse, teacher, counselor and friend to students and co-workers. One said, "I don't believe I have ever met a person who is more sensitive to the needs of students."

The retirees honored have given ACU combined service of 142 years in various departments:

  • 28 years - Dr. Ron Rathbun, Department of Music
  • 26 years - Dr. Ted Starnes, University Events
  • 22 years - Dr. Gary Thompson, Department of Political Science
  • 16 years - John Anderson, Energy Management
  • 14 years - Jimmie Gomez, Health Services
  • 13 years - Linda Appleton, Department of English
  • 13 years - Elaine Roberson, Admissions
  • 10 years - Bill Spann, ACU Foundation.

Employees and trustees who have served the university for at least 10 years received service pins for intervals of five years of work:

40 years

Dr. Joyce M. Curtis, Department of Exercise Science and Health;
and Dr. Alvie Davis, Department of Chemistry

35 years

Dr. Bill Walton, Department of English

30 years

Dr. Ed George, Department of Music;
Jasper Howard, Board of Trustees;
Bill Johnson, Board of Trustees;
Dr. Charles Small, Department of Management Sciences;
Patricia Varner, Department of Family and Consumer Sciences;
and Nancy Gay Witt, Library

25 years

Hazel Fillmon, Campus Life;
Marisue Meyer, Admissions;
Dr. Jack Griggs, College of Business Administration;
Tommy Morris, Board of Trustees;
Paula Hall, ARAMARK;
Bill Shaw, Customer Service;
Betty Raye Hammond, Financial Management Services;
and Dr. Billy Van Jones, Department of Psychology

20 years

Dr. Cheryl M. Bacon, Department of Journalism and Mass Communication;
Dr. Mel Hailey, Department of Political Science;
Dr. Tom Milholland, Assistant Provost;
Chic Owens, Department of Education;
Martha Renfro, College of Biblical Studies;
and Dr. Michael E. Sadler, Department of Physics

15 years

Dr. Steve Allison, Health Services and Department of Psychology;
Dr. Fred A. Bailey, Department of History;
Bonnie Bailey, Department of Biology;
Colleen Blasingame, Admissions;
Vicki Britten, Development Operations;
Dr. Elizabeth Marion Cawood, Department of Music;
Don W. Crisp, Board of Trustees;
David Dalbert, Security;
John M. Duncum, Board of Trustees,
Paulette Etheredge, Masten Ranch;
W.B. Etheredge, Masten Ranch;
Dr. Bill Fowler, Department of Accounting and Finance;
Dr. Dieter Goebel, Department of Foreign Languages;
Dr. Waymon Hinson, Department of Marriage and Family Therapy;
Jo Anne Jamison, Payroll/Human Resources;
Erma Jean Loveland, Library;
Jack Maxwell, Department of Art;
Jerry Strader, D.D.S., Board of Trustees;
Gayle Taylor, Campus Life;
Dr. Jeff Warr, Department of Journalism and Mass Communication;
Kevin Weems, Sound Systems and Recording;
Dr. Dan White, Department of Education,
Dr. Thomas L. Winter, Provost Office;
Mary Womack, Department of Education;
Anita Wright, Billing/Receivables;
Bill Young, Church Relations and Lectureship;
and Joe A. Powell, Board of Trustees

10 years

Dr. Jeff Arrington, College of Arts and Sciences;
Judy Chambers, Development Operations;
Joe L. Cope, ACU Foundation;
Joyce Dalzell, Human Resources;
Peggy Degge, Library;
Dr. Jeffrey Haseltine, Department of Foreign Languages;
Dr. Patricia Hernandez, Department of Biology;
Onita Hill, Learning Enhancement Center;
Jerry Lambert, Grounds;
Marsha Lee Masters, Abilene Educational Supply;
Dr. Robert McKelvain, Department of Psychology;
Mary Lou McKissick, Pruett Gerontology Center;
Dr. Foy D. Mills Jr., Department of Agriculture and Environment;
Tony Morrow, Academic Advance;
George Saltsman, Center for Teaching Excellence;
Bonnie Scott, Student Financial Services;
Glenda Weatherford, Department of Music;
Dr. Vernon Williams, Department of History;
Sue Wilson, Central Plant;
Alan Wright, Physical Plant;
William Rankin, Department of English;
Charlene Fort, University Mail Services;
Marjorie Wood, Library;
Don Rhoden, Board of Trustees;
Joe T. Ritchie, Board of Trustees;
and C.E. "Doc" Cornutt, Board of Trustees


If you are a member of the media who would like more information about this release, please contact Tom Craig, director of media and community relations, at or call 915-674-2692.

Last update: May 5, 1999
This page is maintained by Tom Craig,