ACU to confer 133 degrees Friday

For immediate release
Aug. 9, 2001

Abilene Christian University will award 133 degrees &endash; 63 master degrees and 70 bachelor degrees &endash; during August Commencement ceremonies at 7:30 p.m. Friday in Moody Coliseum.

Dr. Mel Hailey, Professor and Chairman of the Department ofPolitical Science, will give the charge to the class of 2001, which includes students from 22 states across America and six foreign countries. Nineteen Abilenians will receive degrees, and 10 more from Big Country communities will graduate.

Two Alpha Chi awards will be given during the ceremony. Alpha Chi awards are given to the students with the highest grade point averages. This year's Alpha Chi recipients are Betsy Christian of Dallas and Catherine Wyrick of Abilene.

Christian, who is receiving a Bachelor of Applied Studies degree in education, carries a 3.9 grade point average, as does Wyrick, who is receiving a Bachleor of Applied Studies degree in sociology.

Also receiving special recognition Friday night is Mrs. Cleone Willingham of Gustine. Willingham originally graduated from ACU in 1937with a bachelor of science degree in business administration. However, she earned enough credits to also receive a bachelor of arts degree in communication, but that degree was not conferred upon her.

However, 64 years after she earned the second degree, Dr. Royce Money, ACU president, will confer the degree upon her during Friday night's ceremonies.

ACU graduates by degree include:

Master of Arts

From Abilene: Shannon Cain, Jennifer Laura Moore, Richard Alan Morris, Elisabeth Erin Pankl, Jacob Daniel Sledge, Kristina Maria Campos Wallace.

From elsewhere: David Daniel Deikun, Stow, Ohio; David Edmonds, Smyrna, Tenn.; Malissa Marie Endsley, Georgetown; Stacy R. Hanks, Buffalo, N.Y.; Andrew L. Johnson, Wichita Falls; Marcus Allan Porter, Cashmere, Wash.; Aaron Robert Pugh, Searcy, Ark.

Master of Arts in Religion

From elsewhere: Brannon Ray Hyde, Austin; Jerry Brent Reeves, Houston; Maury Jay Wright, Garland

Master of Divinity

From Abilene: James Holland.

From elsewhere: Russell Neal Hooper, Haltom City; Matthew R. Rawlings, Portsmouth, Ohio; Eric Wesley Yates, Fayettville, Ark.

Master of Education

From the area: Jennifer Kay Shaver Mathis, Haskell; Dee Ann Smith, Stamford.

From elsewhere: Nancy Jo Overby Clinard, Greensboro, N.C.; Jon Mark James, Haltom City; Kathy Sue Love Jones, Odessa;Andrew J. Wilson, Cleburne; Qian Yang, Shan Dong Peninsula, People's Republic of China.

Master of Marriage and Family Therapy

From Abilene: Christina Marie Batten; Matthew J. Dodd; Randy Joe Porter; Suzanne M. Stasney.

From the area: Gina Creighton Marks, Tuscola.

From elsewhere: Christmas Ebini Atem, Douala, Cameroon; Jaime Dawn Bilderback, New Cumberland, West Va.; Elizabeth Sarah Buzzard, Friendswood; Daron Dickens, Sherman; John Richard Hodges, Searcy, Ark.; Alan Ivy, Mansfield; Geremy F. Keeton, Gatesville; W. Gavin Morgan, Wildwood, Mo.; Ginger Collopy Myers, Amarillo; Suzanne Michele Paster, Birmingham, Ala.; Belinda Richardson, New York, N.Y.

Master of Science

From Abilene: Edward W. Stasney.

From elsewhere: Mark David Allen, Chiang Mai, Thailand; John Berry, Longview; Robby E. Dudley, Chandlersville, Ohio; Jason Keith Fry, Round Rock; Jodie DeAnn Hicks, Canby, Ore.; Jason Houser, Vancouver, Wash.; Brian Hughes, Temple; Emilio R. Lerzundi, Lima, Peru; Duane C. Mackey, Port Orange, Fla.; Jason Moriarty, Calgary, Alberta, Canada; Scott Alan Mueller, Edmond, Okla.; Amy Beth Hefty Mullen, Mashpee, Massachusetts; Tim Mullen, Marietta, Ohio; Randal Senter, Cleburne; Harry E. Vance, Pflugerville; Ben W. Walker, Lubbock; John Willis, Palm Beach, Fla.

Master of Science in Nursing

From elsewhere: Mark Edward Anna, Seminole; Christine Heady, Roscoe.

Bachelor of Applied Studies

From Abilene: Catherine Lynn Wyrick, Gary Wayne Earnest; Ronald W. Landis.

From the area: Christine Mary Allen, Coleman; William H. Baldwin Jr., Snyder; Bonnie Margurite Leeper Walker, Wingate; Terri Reniece Whitefield, Rotan

From elsewhere: Betsey Lee Christian, Dallas;Holly Lorraine Zieminski Lafferty, Southington, Conn.; Melissa Jane Maxwell, Brenham; Jacqueline McGrew, Hazlehurst, Miss.



Bachelor of Arts -- Summa Cum Laude

From elsewhere: Jesse Bryant LaBuff, Monroeville, Pa.

Bachelor of Arts -- Cum Laude

From the area: Louis Allen Maberry, Hawley.

From elsewhere: Erin Leigh Sims.


From Abilene: Moses C. Hall III

From elsewhere: Arpil Dawn Hall, Yukon, Okla.; Susan Rebekah York, Lufkin.

Bachelor of Fine Arts

From elsewhere: Chad Russell Fiebiger, Scottsdale, Ariz.; Patrick Kenneth Mocorro, Tacoma, Wash.; April Dawn Trueblood, Roper, N.C.

Bachelor of Science -- Summa Cum Laude

From elsewhere: Erica Jayne Hallman Allen, Mount Joy, Pa.; Michael Kyle Dempsey, Stephenville; Will Caleb Potter, Bedford.

Bachelor of Science -- Magna Cum Laude

From the area: Tonya Jodene Bailey McElyea, Brownwood.

From elsewhere: Jaclyn Elaine Washington, Denver, Colo.


From Abilene: Chad G. Orren

From the area: Christy A. Robertson, Merkel

From elsewhere: Aaron DuWayne Allen, Corpus Christi; Kippa Lee Allmon, Petersburg; Mark Alexander Anderson, Atlanta, Ga.; Misty Dawn Atha, San Angelo; Chris L. Baker, Huber Heights, Ohio; Marka Leanne Barrett, Kress; Michael W. Bishop, Harlingen; Janet Beth Conner, Granbury; Kristen Ayn Culpepper, Houston; Amy Michelle Garrison, Weatherford; Lindsey E. Lovett, Decatur; Brandon W. Lowe, Amarillo; Lisa Danielle Maloney, Weatherford; Jennifer Gilbert McKean, Plano; Jamie Sheree Monroe, Flower Mound; Andrew Glen Myers, Mesquite; Carrie Renee Pringle, Cypress; Michael John Skloss, Floresville; Kenneth Joe Walker, Sherman; George Lee Washington, Corpus Christi; Katy Evelyn Welch, Friona; Bret Allan Wells, Madisonville; Alexis Leigh Young, Denver, Colo.


Bachelor of Arts -- Magna Cum Laude

From elsewhere: Tony Dustin Stidham, Los Alamos, N.M.

Bachelor of Science -- Cum Laude

From elsewhere: Matthew Michael Martin, Fort Worth.


From elsewhere: Curt Ryan Cooper, McKinney; Cory Keith Jones, Odessa; Richard Ragnvald Lewis III, Farmers Branch; Albert H. Miller, Hugoton, Kan.; Douglas Benjamin Pagenkopf, Thousand Oaks, Calif.; Mollie Rebecca Spaulding, Lufkin.


Bachelor of Business Administration -- Magna Cum Laude

From elsewhere: Kristina Guder Craig, Frankfurt, Germany.


From Abilene: Brad Sheridan Bardin

From elsewhere: Amanda Marie Delp, Grandview; William Crockett Gambrel, Yantis; Shaka Jamal Huggins, Denver, Colo.; MatthewN. Judson, Corsicana; Christopher David Kennedy, Carrollton; Warner Matthew Phelps, Conroe; Jack Jay Potts, Dallas; Joseph Abu Varney, Arlington

MEDIA NOTE: The reception for Mrs. Cleone Willingham will get started at 6 p.m. Friday in the Living Room of the McGlothlin Campus,Center. If you want to interview Mrs. Willingham, we would ask that you arrive at the Campus Center between 5:45 and 6 p.m. so that we might get you set up and get your interview before her guests begin to arrive. The graduation ceremony will begin at 7:30 p.m. Friday in Moody Coliseum, and Dr. Royce Money will make a special presentation to Mrs. Willingham during the ceremony.



Archived News Releases - Current ACU News and Events

If you are a member of the media who would like more information about this release, please contact Lance Fleming, manager of news and athletics media relations, at or call 915-674-2693.

Last update: Aug. 9, 2001
This page is maintained by Lance Fleming,