Fourteen chosen to represent ACU as cheerleaders for 2001-02

For Immediate Release
May 1, 2001

For more information contact:

Tom Craig, Director of Media and Community Relations

Abilene Christian University selected cheerleaders for the 2001-02 athletic season. Of the 29 candidates eligible, those that made the squad include:

  • Jesse Barton, sophomore from Dallas;
  • Allison Ford, freshman from Richardson;
  • Jeff Francis, senior from Abilene;
  • Tami Griffin, sophomore from Saginaw;
  • Allison Haley, freshman from Frisco;
  • Chris Henderson, junior from St. Louis;
  • Lindsay Hines, sophomore from Plano;
  • Courtney Kerr, sophomore from Ft. Worth;
  • Joey Ketcherside, sophomore from Amarillo;
  • L.S. McClain, junior from Snyder;
  • Holly Porter, sophomore from Ft. Worth;
  • Stuart Reed, senior from Dallas;
  • Laura Trammell, sophomore from Slaton; and
  • Laura Zengerle, junior from Spring, was chosen to be the ACU mascot, Willie the Wildcat.

A panel of three judges chose this group based on Universal Cheerleaders Association criteria, the main governing body for collegiate cheerleaders.

"ACU's cheerleaders serve a significant public relations role for the university as well as being charged with enhancing game atmospheres for football, basketball and other selected athletics and university-wide events," said Cody Huffman, ACU's athletics marketing director. "They perform community service and serve in a number of campus programs including pep rallies, Welcome Week orientation, on-campus recruiting visits, and a number of other events."


Archived News Releases - Current ACU News and Events

If you are a member of the media who would like more information about this release, please contact Tom Craig, director of media and community relations, at or call 915-674-2692 (cell phone: 665-5469).

Last update: May 1, 2001
This page is maintained by Tom Craig,