Fifty ACU students chosen as University Scholars

For Immediate Release
April 28, 2000


Jamie Milstead, Media Relations Specialist
(915) 674-2696

Tom Craig, Director of Media and Community Relations
(915) 674-2692

Fifty of Abilene Christian University's top students have been chosen by the Faculty Senate for University Scholars honors.

Faculty members nominate students who are graduating in 2000 for consideration with letters describing the qualities of their students. Each department may nominate as many students as it desires but only one spot is guaranteed for each department.

To be eligible for consideration, a student must have a GPA of 3.5 or higher and must have completed at least 90 hours by the close of the fall 1999 semester.

The 50 University Scholars are chosen by the University Scholars subcommittee of the Faculty Senate and confirmed by the entire Faculty Senate.

"The subcommittee looks at ACU's mission statement," said Dr. David Wray, associate professor of Bible and chair of the Undergraduate Department of Bible. "We select students who reflect that service and leadership.

University Scholars for 2000 include: Eileen Pratt from Abilene; Rachel Vandenberg from Dyess AFB; Ben Crain from Choctow, Okla.; Fletcher Srygley from Nashville, Tenn.; Robert Harrell from San Antonio; Kevin Rhodes from Fort Worth; Dustin Pratt from Abilene; Kermit Fox from San Antonio; Terry Moore from Eldorado, Okla.; Jonathan Mock from Denver City; Jenny Wallace from Tyler; Jill Tappe from Arlington; Laurie Lawson from Crowley; Lisa Greenlee from Houston; Merry Lacy from Jasper; Lyndsay Gosdin from Irving; Melody Donahue from Harrold; April Forest from La Grange; Andrew Huddleston from Andrews; Erika Treat from Fort Worth; Alisa Cooper from Raton, N.M.; Jessica Reese from Abilene; Summer Pierson from Abilene; Zachary Leslie from Big Spring; Karissa Mischke from Maple Grove, Minn.; Rebecca Bubert from Georgetown; Shauna Walker from Napton, Mo.; Jonathan Goudeau from Cedar Park; Melissa Sheldon from Dallas; Doga Taslardan from Turkey; Jodi Gray from Bedford; Amanda Cook from Duncanville; Holly Schwartz from Chesapeake, Va.; Andy Brown from Ovilla; Cory Robinson from Rule; Shawn Hayden from Abilene; Carrie DenBleyker from Vanderwagen, N.M.; Kelli Farber from Amarillo; Laura Mann from College Station; Brooke Lucas from Independence, Mo; Doss Alexander from Richardson; Blake Berryhill from Bartlesville, Okla.; J.P Conway from Lavergne, Tenn.; Matthew Wallace from Abilene; Peggy Thomas from Abilene; John Mark Willits from Abilene; Sterling Cave from Snyder; Eliza Chie from Hong Kong; Jason Schumacher from Arlington; Janet Lewis from Enid, Okla.

Archived News Releases - Current ACU News and Events

If you are a member of the media who would like more information about this release, please contact Tom Craig, director of media and community relations, at or call 915-674-2692 (cell phone: 665-5469).

Last update: April 28, 2000
This page is maintained by Tom Craig,