Behavior Intervention Team (BIT)

Abilene Christian University desires to be proactive when it comes to the welfare of our students. As a result, ACU’s Behavior Intervention Team (“BIT”) receives, shares and assesses information regarding concerning or disruptive student behavior in order to establish coordinated, caring, and preventative interventions aimed at avoiding harm to self or others.

BIT encourages anyone to report a student’s concerning or disruptive behavior in the following ways: file a SOAR report; or contact Dean of Students Mark Lewis at Mark.Lewis@acu.edu or 325.674-2772.  However, in an emergency ACUPD should be contacted at (325) 674-2911.  The types of behavior or actions that should be reported include but are not limited to the following:

  • Classroom disturbances
  • Disproportionate responses to grades or other evaluations
  • Threatening or aggressive behavior include online posts or videos
  • Angry or hostile outburst
  • Words, actions, or writings that suggest intentions to harm self or others
  • Observed self-injurious behavior or unhealthy habits that seriously threaten health or safety
  • Suicidal threats, gestures, ideations, or attempts
  • Being under the influence of drugs or alcohol in the classroom
  • Accidental overdose
  • Extreme insubordination to staff or faculty
  • Paranoia or delusions
  • Flat affect or extreme lack of response
  • Stalking
  • Alarming references to bombs, ammunitions, or weapons
  • Acts motivated by hatred or discrimination
  • Excessive absenteeism or extreme isolation

BIT Members, 2014-2015

Jimmy Ellison        ACUPD    jimmy.ellison@acu.edu
Scott Self Alpha Program jss00c@acu.edu
Christopher Hutson   Academics–Bible cxh04c@acu.edu
Shannon Kaczmarek    SOAR   srb04a@acu.edu
Mark Lewis    Student Life   lewism@acu.edu
Susan Lewis   Academics–Provost’s Office lewiss@acu.edu
Randy Motz   ACUPD    rdm12a@acu.edu
Sherita Nickerson      Student Life      slj00a@acu.edu
Chris Riley Student Life     cmr97t@acu.edu
Steve Rowlands   Counseling Center   rowlandss@acu.edu
Bob Strader    Residence Life    straderb@acu.edu