Codes of Ethics

Social work professionals are held accountable to ethical standards defined by the National Association of Social Workers (NASW). These standards guide professional social work practice and protect both social workers and their clients.

The social work Code of Ethics is based on six core values of the profession:

  • Service
  • Social Justice
  • Dignity and Worth of the Person
  • Importance of Human Relationships
  • Integrity
  • Competence

In the ACU School of Social Work Bachelor’s and Master’s programs, students learn about the social work Code of Ethics and the Texas State Board of Social Work Examiners Code of Conduct  and how to apply these guiding ethical principles to their professional practice.