Texas Tech University School of Pharmacy, Abilene
Abilene city officials, community leaders and HSC's School of Pharmacy celebrated the state's approval of expansion of the four-year pharmacy program into Abilene, Texas.  The 36,000-square-foot building opened in fall 2007.  Like the main SOP campus in Amarillo, the Abilene regional campus offers all four years of TTUHSC's Pharm.D. program.  The Abilene program will be home to 160 students by the start of the 2010-2011 academic year and will eventually employ 22 full-time clinical faculty, three non-tenure track basic-science faculty and nine staff. The founding class will graduate in May of 2011.

Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center
School of Pharmacy
302 Pine Street
Abilene, Texas 79606

Texas Tech University School of Pharmacy, Amarillo
The 1993 State Legislature approved a School of Pharmacy for the Texas Tech Health Science Center in Amarillo. The school accepted its first class of 64 full-time students in 1996. The school is located in a 102,000-square-foot building within the Harrington Regional Medical Center complex, a 41-acre campus made up of a group of hospitals and associated healthcare facilities surrounding the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center academic building.

The School of Pharmacy offers the doctor of pharmacy as its single professional degree through a four-year full-time traditional program and a three- or four-year part-time nontraditional program.  While a bachelor's degree is not required, students should have met two years of pre-pharmacy requirements before entering the Pharm.D. program in the fall sememster.

Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center
School of Pharmacy
1300 S. Coulter Drive
Amarillo, Texas 79106
Email: (Student Services & Admissions Information)

University of Houston College of Pharmacy, Houston
The College of Pharmacy, which was established in 1947, is housed in two modern facilities located within a few minutes commuting distance. One building is on the University of Houston central campus; the other at the Texas Medical Center. Students receive their basic pharmaceutical science education on the UH campus.  At the Texas Medical Center, they are instructed in contemporary pharmacy practice and are provided training through structured experiences in hospital, clinical, chain and community pharmacy practice. The College of Pharmacy is accredited by the American Council on Pharmaceutical Education (ACPE) and is a member of the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy (AACP).

The College of Pharmacy offers a four-year program leading to the doctor of pharmacy degree, including 48 weeks of required and elective rotations in a clinical setting. Through their student-cenetered learning, patient-care oriented activities begin during the first year through service-learning opportunities in the community. Entrance into the College of Pharmacy also requires an application for admission through the University's Office of Admissions.

University of Houston
College of Pharmacy
Office of Admissions-122, SR2
Houston, Texas 77204-5511

University of Texas College of Pharmacy, Austin
The College of Pharmacy operates its programs from a two-building complex on the Austin campus. Additionally, teaching and research facilities for pharmacy students, faculty and staff are available at the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio.  Pharmacy interns expand their professional practice knowledge and skills alongside medical, dental and nursing students at the University of Texas system's health science centers in San Antonio, Dallas, Galveston, Corpus Christi, El Paso and the Rio Grande Valley area of Texas.

The college offers one professional degree program: a six-year entry-level curriculum leading to the doctor of pharmacy degree. The first two years is considered pre-pharmacy, follwed by a four-year professional program. This curriculum is an integrated approach to disease management, leading up to an internship of seven, six-week rotations. No student may begin the professional curriculum until he or she has been admitted to the University of Texas at Austin and has been admitted to the professional curriculum in pharmacy by the dean. If a degree has already been acquired, the student should apply to the university as a transfer student.

College of Pharmacy
University of Texas at Austin
Austin, Texas 78712-1074
512-471-4425 (Pharmacy Admissions)

Southwestern Oklahoma State University School of Pharmacy
Southwestern Oklahoma State University is located 70 miles west of Oklahoma City in Weatherford, Okla.  The School of Pharmacy was founded in 1939 and is housed in a modern building. The School of Pharmacy is accredited by the ACPE and is a member of the AACP.

Completion of the School of Pharmacy curriculum leads to a Doctor of Pharmacy degree and is commonly referred to as a two-four program: two years of pre-pharmacy study plus four years of study in the professional program. In order to be considered for admission to the School of Pharmacy, a student must first have been admitted to Southwestern Oklahoma State University. The pre-pharmacy program is available to all who have not completed the required pre-pharmacy curriculum, including high school graduates and college transfer students. Admission to the professional pharmacy program may occur for the fall, spring or summer terms. Note: preference is given to Oklahoma residents and other U.S. residents who complete the pre-pharmacy requirements at SWOSU.

Southwestern Oklahoma State University School of Pharmacy
School of Pharmacy
100 Campus Drive
Weatherford, OK 73096-3098

University of the Incarnate Word Feik School of Pharmacy
The university is located on what was formerly the estate of noted San Antonio philanthropist, businessman and civil servant Col. George W. Brackenridge. The University  of the Incarnate Word, a Catholic institution committed to educational excellence in a context of faith, welcomes to its community persons of diverse backgrounds, faiths and beliefs. The integrated course of study provides approximately 37 hours in the pharmaceutical sciences, 11 hours in pharmacy administration, and 106 hours in pharmacy practice and experiential learning. 

Dr. Carmita A. Coleman
Assistant Director for Student Affairs

Texas A&M University-Kingsville Irma Lerma Rangel School of Pharmacy
Texas A&M University-Kingsville, located in Kingsville, Texas, offers an extensive array of baccalaureate and master's degree programs and selected doctoral and professional degrees in an academically challenging, learning centered and caring environment.

The TAMUK College of Pharmacy offers the doctor of pharmacy as its single professional degree. It is offered in a four-year, traditional program. The first year of the curriculum comprises courses that will provide a fundamental understanding of basic biomedical science concepts. In the second year the emphasis is shifted to a more patient-centered, practice-based learning format. In the third year, the curriculum is comprised of advanced therapeutics courses, clinical pharmacokinetics, toxicology and poison management. The final year concentrates on the clerkship rotaions and a grand rounds rotation.

Office of Student Affairs
Irma Lerma Rangel College of Pharmacy
Texas A&M University-Kingsville
MSC 131, 700 University Blvd.
Kingsville, TX 7863-8202
Fax: 361/5934233