V.W. Kelley Scholarship

The V.W. and Loreta Kelley Alumni Endowed Scholarships are awarded annually to graduating seniors - one man and one woman - for graduate study.

The scholarship was named for the late V.W. Kelley ('40) of San Angelo who was president of the Alumni Association. His widow, Loreta (Lewis '39) Kelley, is assistant professor emerita.

The recipients of the V.W. Kelley Scholarship are selected by the Alumni Advisory Board. Faculty are solicited for nominations. Selection criteria are as follows:

  • Must be a graduating senior who has rendered outstanding service to fellow students and to Abilene Christian University
  • Must be of the highest moral character
  • Must have distinguished himself/herself in his/her chosen academic discipline

Nominate a graduating senior here.

Past Recipients of the V.W. Kelley Scholarship: 

2012 Jonathan Holmes and Noemi Palomares
2011 Matthew Hale and Bonnie Sullivan
2010 John Ashinhurst and Brittany Brumit
2009 Jeremy Tatum and Charrelle Coates
2008 Austin Basye and Whitney Kettren
2007 Matt Wickes and Abby Loe
2006 Alex Castro and Meg Goggin
2005 Brandon Osborne and Elizabeth Alvarez
2004 Jim Drachenberg and Kasey Lane
2003 Lee Nault and Laura Zengerle
2002 Jeff Patty and Jennifer Thigpen
2001 John Vann and Lauren Webster
2000 Andrew Babcock and Rebecca Bubert
1999 Anthony Todd and Christie Kershbaum
1998 Brian Cavitt and Mandy Scudder
1997 Rob Conner and Ann Francis
1996 John Siburt and Susan Hinds
1995 Brian Hughes and Ghada Al-Atrash
1994 Bryan McCaleb and Michelle Adams
1993 Lance Caughfield and Patrice Natalicchio
1992 Hunter Cooley and Kimberly Meador
1991 Michael Martin and DeeAnn Comolli Reynolds
1990 Don Heyen and Leslie Wilborn
1989 Lance McAlister and Julie Fitzpatrick
1988 Duane Young and Robyn Reed
1987 Todd Coleman and Elaine Rainwater
1986 Jim Cawthon and Holly Hill
1985 Scott Fennel and Amy Adler
1984 Gary Fleet and Leigh Ann Manis
1983 Clay Hale and Sharon Johnston
1982 Jimmy Cawyer and Rhonda Staples
1981 John Tyson and Nita Parker
1980 Guy "Mojo" Lewis and Melissa Daniels
1979 Doug Williams and Melinda Scruggs
1978 Dickie Porche and Becky Boone
1977 Steve Green and Diane Church
1976 Steve Allison and Judy Anderson
1975 Greg Stirman and Terri Sue Kelley
Featured Video
There's a NEW CAT in town! Check out the new graphic identity of ACU athletics and read more about the logo selection process.