Faculty & Staff


Full-Time Faculty
Dr. Matt Roberson, Chair, Associate Professor of Musicology
WPAC 128 - 325-674-2108- matt.roberson@acu.edu
Derek Brown, Director of Jazz Studies, Instructor of Saxophone and Advanced Theory
WPAC 228 - 325-674-2044 - derek.brown@acu.edu
Dr. Pauline Bjorem, Associate Professor of Piano
WPAC 217 - 325-674-2314 - pauline.bjorem@acu.edu
Samuel Cook, Associate Professor of Voice
WPAC 224 - 325-674-2195 - samuel.cook@acu.edu
Jeffery Goolsby, Director of Choral Activities, Choral Music Education
WPAC 132 - 325-674-4891 - jeff.goolsby@acu.edu
Dr. Brandon Houghtalen, Associate Director of Bands, Instrumental Music Education, Horn
WPAC 130 - 325-674-2240 - brandon.houghtalen@acu.edu
Cheryl Lemmons, Piano Accompanist
WPAC 222 - 325-674-2307 - lemmonsc@acu.edu
Dan Mitchell, Instructor of Guitar
WPAC 136 - 325-674-2029
Dr. Rick Piersall, Assistant Professor of Voice, Opera and Music History
WPAC 133 - 325-674-2302 - rick.piersall@acu.edu
Dr. Julie Pruett, Vocal Division Director and Associate Professor of Voice
WPAC 220 - 325-674-2356 - pruettj@acu.edu
Dr. Mike Scarbrough, Professor of Voice
WPAC 131 - 325-674-2143 - scarbroughm@acu.edu
Dr. Gregory Straughn, Dean, College of Arts and Sciences
Sherrod 127 - 325-674-2209 - gregory.straughn@acu.edu
Dr. Allen Teel, Instrumental Division Chair, Professor of Percussion and World Music
WPAC 153 - 325-674-2030 - teela@acu.edu
Susan Teel, Instructor of Music Education, Theory and Intro to Music
WPAC 226 - 325-674-2516 - susan.teel@acu.edu
Dr. Steven Ward, Director of Bands and Orchestra, Conducting
WPAC 129 - 325-674-2028 - steven.ward@acu.edu
Dr. Kay Williams, Professor of Piano and Theory
WPAC 218 - 325-674-2242 - williamskay@acu.edu

Office Staff  

Mel Hartline, Financial Operations Manager
WPAC 138 - 325-674-2301 - mel.hartline@acu.edu
Emily Berry, Administrative Assistant
WPAC 122 - 325-674-2197 - emily.berry@acu.edu

Glenda Weatherford, Academic Adviser
WPAC 127 - 325-674-2462 - weatherfordg@acu.edu

Back to Top

Intercollegiate Faculty

Dr. Jeff Cottrell, Instructor of Low Brass
jcottrell@hsutx.edu
Mark Wilcox, Instructor of Trumpet
wilcox.mark@mcm.edu

Adjunct Faculty

Amy Huzjak, Cello Instructor
WPAC 227 - 325-674-4891 - amy.huzjak@gmail.com
Janelle Ott, Bassoon Instructor
WPAC 219 - 325-674-2196 - jaott1@gmail.com
John Madura, Violin and String Quartet Instructor
WPAC 227 - 325-674-4891 - johnmadura18@hotmail.com
Karla Ordonez, Flute Professor
WPAC 223 - 325-674-2193
Shelly Reed, Voice Instructor (non-major)
WPAC 225 - 325-674-4862 - shelly.reed@acu.edu
Susetta Rockett, Oboe Instructor
WPAC 223 - 817-372-1830 - susettarocketta@hotmail.com
Kristin Ward Clarinet, SS, ET and Jazz Voice Instructor
WPAC 219 - 325-674-2196 - kristin.ward@acu.edu
Alice Welch, Piano Instructor
WPAC 221 - 325-674-2839 - alicewelch@suddenlink.net

Retired & Emeriti Faculty  

Dr. Jack Boyd
jackboyd@abilene.com
Dr. Marion Cawood
estelle42@yahoo.com
Dr. M. L. Daniels
danielsm_l@yahoo.com
Douglas Fry
nancy.hammes@yahoo.com
Dr. Ed George
georgee@acu.edu
Jeanette Lipford
lipfordj@acu.edu
Dr. Charles Nelson
nelsonc@acu.edu
Dr. Paul Piersall
paul.piersall@acu.edu
Dr. Ron Rathbun
rathbunron@suddenlink.net

Back to Top

 

  • Get More Info
    Get More Info

    Interested in music? Complete our online form to receive more information.

    Complete the form 

  • Visit Campus
    Visit Campus

    Satisfy your curiosity about what it means to live and learn at ACU!

    Schedule a visit

  • Apply to ACU
    Apply to ACU

    Apply Online

    Learn more about our application and admissions process.

  • Audition
    Audition

    Applying to be a Music major? Wanting to join one of ACU's vocal or instrumental ensembles?

    Sign-up for an Audition

Connect with Music
Connect with Band
Connect with Orchestra
Connect with Choir
Connect with Opera