Gutenberg Awards

Introduced in 1993, the Gutenberg Award recognizes distinguished professional achievements of Journalism and Mass Communication Department alumni. 

To be considered for the award, a candidate must be (at least) a 10-year alumnus/alumna of ACU. Selections are made by JMC department faculty and honorees are presented scale models of Gutenberg printing presses.

From 1982-1988, the department annually honored one outstanding JMC graduate before initiating Gutenbergs.


2014 Gutenberg Award Recipients

This year, the JMC department is pleased to honor the following Gutenberg Award recipients:

Randy Brewer ('93)
Founder, Executive Producer
Revolution Pictures
Nashville, TN
Steve Cantrell ('81)
Director of Client Services, Media Specialist
The Balcom Agency
Fort Worth, TX
Cindy Leeper Shields ('89)
Director, Human Resources
Cracker Barrel Old Country Store, Inc.
Nashville, TN

Past Gutenberg Award Recipients


Featured Video
Watch as JMC juniors and seniors offer words of wisdom to freshmen majors.
Connect Online

Connect with JMC

Connect with The Optimist

Connect with Optimist Sports

Connect with Morris & Mitchell 

Connect with 99 West Media