Faculty & Staff

Read More

Kim Pamplin, Ph.D.
Department Chair and Associate Professor

B.S., Abilene Christian University, 1991
Ph.D., Iowa State University, 1996

Phone: 325-674-2001
Email: pamplink@acu.edu

Areas of research:

  • Applications of anodic oxygen-transfer reactions at doped metal oxide electrodes

Read More

Brian Cavitt, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

B.S., Abilene Christian University, 1998
Ph.D., University of Southern Mississippi, 2002

Phone: 325-674-2159
Email: cavitt@chemistry.acu.edu

Areas of research:

  • Photopolymerizations
  • Photochemistry
  • Kinetics
  • Biomaterials
  • Coatings

Read More

Eric Hardegree, Ph.D.
Professor

B.S., Abilene Christian University, 1980
M.S., Abilene Christian University, 1982
Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin, 1985

Phone: 325-674-2157
Email: hardegree@chemistry.acu.edu

Areas of research:

  • Surface chemistry
  • Electrochemistry
  • Chemical education

Read More

Sarah K. Lee, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

B.S. Biochemistry, Abilene Christian University, 2005
Ph.D. Biochemistry, Colorado State University, 2010

ACU Box 28132
Phone: 325.674.2319
Email: sarah.lee@acu.edu
Office Number: FSB277B

Areas of Research:
Regulation of eukaryotic gene expression after TBP recruitment


Read More

Cynthia Powell, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Chemistry

B.S., Abilene Christian University, 1981
M.S., Texas A&M University, 1984
Ph.D., University of North Texas, 2010

Office phone: 325-674-2864
Email: powellc@acu.edu
Office Number: FSB256B

Areas of research:

  • Synthesis of organometallic transition-metal complexes
  • Chemical education
  • Educational technology

 


Read More

Greg Powell, Ph.D.
Professor

B.S, Abilene Christian University, 1980
Ph.D., Texas A&M University, 1984 

Phone: 325-674-2176
Email: powellg@acu.edu

Areas of research:

  • Synthesis, structural characterization and reactivity of transition-metal complexes with metal-metal bonds
  • Room temperature ionic liquids

Read More

Perry Reeves, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus

B.S., Abilene Christian University, 1965
Ph.D., University of Texas, Austin, 1969 

Phone: 325-674-2003
Email: reeves@chemistry.acu.edu
Office Number: FSB283

Areas of research:

  • Stabilization of carbonium ions by organometallic compounds
  • Photocatalytic destruction of organic compounds

Read More

Autumn Sutherlin, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

B.S., Harding University, 1997
Ph.D., Purdue University, 2003

Phone: 325-674-6511
Email: autumn.sutherlin@acu.edu

Areas of research:

  • Structure and function of the enzymes of the mevalonate pathway of isopentenyl pyrophosphate biosynthesis

Spotlight 


Read More

Sandy King
Administrative Coordinator

Phone: 325-674-2176
Email: sandy.king@acu.edu

 

 


Amber Brokaw
Lab Manager

B.S., Abilene Christian University, 2001

Phone: 325-674-2446
Email: als98p@acu.edu

Spotlight Video
The ACU Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry trains students to be exceptional Christian servants and leaders in chemical and biochemical careers.
  • Explore Majors
    Explore Majors

    ACU's mission is to educate students for Christian service and leadership throughout the world.

    View all majors

  • Visit Campus
    Visit Campus

    Satisfy your curiosity about what it means to live and learn at ACU!

    Schedule a visit

  • Apply to ACU
    Apply to ACU

    Apply Online

    Learn more about our application and admissions process.